With Chile celebrating its bicentenary, the 2010 race route was designed to follow in the footsteps of the great explorers who discovered routes through the region many years before. Race organizer Stjepan Pavicic came up with the most southerly course in adventure racing history – but reigning champions Helly Hansen-Prunesco still managed to become the first team to ever defend the title.

“The 2010 race was one of spectacular contrasts,” said Pavicic. “It took competitors from the incredible flat plains of central Chilean Tierra del Fuego to the brutal and rugged peaks of the Darwin Range and the frothing waters of the Beagle Channel. It proved to be a good test for a strong group of competitors.

“We are proud of our history, and it was fantastic to enable the competitors to visit some of the legendary places that are not really yet on the tourist routes. The Darwin Range, for instance, is an incredible wilderness – and it is so unexplored we had to name some of the valleys on the route specifically for the race!”

Starting from the shores of the Strait of Magellan, 14 international teams from the UK, Japan, USA, Switzerland, Canada, Brazil, Chile, Germany, Scandinavia and Spain followed a combination of mountain bike routes and treks south on wide open plains past the island’s scattered estancias, alongside expansive flamingo-filled salt lakes and into rolling hills.

They travelled through the Wildlife Conservation Society’s Karukinka Reserve and into the Darwin Range, where they enjoyed an otherwise impossible glimpse of the remote virgin wilderness and also saw first hand the devastation being caused by the Beaver infestation in the region that the race is run to race to raise awareness of and help eradicate.

The final test, a paddle across the legendary Beagle Channel, took them to one of the most famous regions visited by Charles Darwin, Wulaia Bay, before a trek up to the finish line on a headland at the top of Isla Navarino, the gateway to Cape Horn and the Antarctica Peninsula.

Teams 2010

1. Helly Hansen- Prunesco

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.34.46 PM.png

2. East Wind

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 5.05.05 PM.png

3. Eddie Bauer

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.58.52 PM.png

4. Switzerland

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 1.10.20 PM.png

5. Untamed New England

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 2.40.40 PM.png

6. Terra Mundi Lontra

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 5.08.59 PM.png

7. GearJunkie.com

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 2.45.44 PM.png

8. Almas Patagónicas

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 2.47.39 PM.png

9. Team Herbertz

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 3.29.54 PM.png

11. Nord Water

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 2.54.08 PM.png

12. Almost Famous

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 11.26.12 AM.png

14. BOE Ejercito de Chile

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 11.31.58 AM.png

15. Fast & light

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 3.23.26 PM.png

16. Air Europa-Bimont

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 3.25.35 PM.png

Results 2010

Final Results – PER 2010
PositionTeam NameFinish TimeCountry
11- Helly Hansen-Prunesco126 Hours, 8 Minutes
216- Air Europa Bimont142 Hours, 46 Minutes
64- Switzerland145 Hours, 6 Minutes
39- Herbertz145 Hours, 6 Minutes
57- GearJunkie.com147 Hours, 31 Minutes
65- Untamed New England148 Hours, 17 Minutes
72- East Wind162 Hours, 20 Minutes
811- Nord WaterPC – 15
912- Almost FamousPC – 10
106- Terra Mundo LontraPC – 10
113- Eddie BauerPC – 10
128- Almas PatagónicasPC – 10
1414- BOE Ejercito de ChilePC – 8
1315- Fast & lightPC – 8